My Account | Search the Catalog | PCPLS calendar | Phone 219-531-9054 to renew material | Site Map
PCPLS HomeValparaiso Public LibraryPortage Public LibrarySouth Haven Public LibraryHebron Public LibraryKouts Public Library
Search the Library Catalog
Subscription Databases

Access Newspaper Archive | Alldata | Ancestry Library Edition
Antiques Reference | Heritage Quest
Historic Map Works | ILearnIndiana Online Instruction Center | Inspire | Morningstar.com
New England Ancestors | Novelist | Political Family Tree | ProQuest Obituaries
Reference USA

= accessible from home

Readers' Advisory

NovelistNovelist
NoveList is a comprehensive readers' advisory solution for fiction lovers. With its intuitive interface and extensive proprietary content, NoveList will help you to answer the question of what to read next.

Available at home access from home *To access this database remotely enter your 14-digit library barcode number.

Back to Top


Genealogy and History

Access Newspaper Archive
NewspaperARCHIVE.com, the largest historic newspaper database available online, offers more interactive tools for the online research community. This database has more than 50 million full-page historic newspapers, a newly designed interface and many features such as user forums and a "My Archive" tool that enables subscribers to compile their own one-of-a-kind newspaper collection.

Ancestry Library Edition
A subscription database of unique resources for genealogical and historical research.  With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more!

Heritage Quest OnlineHeritage Quest Online
Full-image, genealogy gateway to the U.S. Federal Census collection, over 20,000 family and local history books, an index of nearly 2 million magazine articles with genealogical information, and a vast database of Revolutionary War era records.

Historic Map Works Historic Map Works
The core of the collection consists of over 100,000 cadastral, land ownership maps detailing the geographic and development history of the United States over several hundred years. There is extensive coverage of rural and suburban areas, as well as cities and towns across America.

Available at home access from home *To access this database remotely enter your 14-digit library barcode number.

New England AncestorsNewEnglandAncestors.org
The oldest genealogical society in the nation offers thousands of resources to help you find your New England roots.  Resources include searchable databases and vital records, access to journals and other publications and an online library catalog.
Political Family Tree Political Family Tree
Thousands of family trees in PDF format of the most prominent American political leaders, including all U.S. Presidents, all U.S. Vice Presidents, and all Signers of the Declaration of Independence, Articles of Confederation, and U.S. Constitution.

ProQuest Obituaries ProQuest Obituaries
Provides more than 10 million obituaries and death notices in full-image format.  Complete obituaries are pulled from national newspapers dating back as far as 1849, resources include: the Chicago Tribune, Chicago Defender, The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Washington Post, and Atlanta Constitution.

Available at home access from home *To access this database remotely enter your 14-digit library barcode number.

Back to Top

 

Business and Investment Research
Morningstar.com MorningStar
Morningstar is an Internet-based investing resource from Morningstar, the national financial and investing publisher. This resource will assist you with the entire investing process, from finding stocks and funds, evaluating them to seeing how they work together in a portfolio. Morningstar's data reports cover more than 20,000 securities.  Use Morningstar To: Review Stocks and Funds analyst reports, identify stocks, mutual funds, and ETFs that meet your needs, create your own screens with Morningstar Screener, delve into the data of a stock or mutual fund and input two or more stocks and/or mutual funds to create your own portfolios.
Available at home access from home

Reference USAReference USA
The residential database contains detailed information on more than 12 million U.S. businesses; 102 million U.S. residents; 683,000 U.S. health care providers; 1 million Canadian businesses; and 11 million Canadian residents.  The Business database offers a comprehensive proprietary database of virtually all U.S. and Canadian businesses and residents. Search for jobs by type of business, location, number of employees and use for market research and as a people finder.

Available at home access from home *To access this database remotely enter your 14-digit library barcode number.

Back to Top

 

Articles and Learning
ILearnIndiana Online Instruction Center Available at home
Here you will find a wide range of highly interactive courses that you can take entirely over the Internet. All of the courses include expert instructors, and are affordable, fun, fast, and convenient.

Inspire Available at homeINSPIRE
Indiana’s Virtual Library includes magazine and journal articles, pamphlets, images, almanacs, links to Indiana information

Links: Kids Search, Student Research Center, Indiana Memory, Indiana State Library, What Tree is That?, Ebooks, Testing & Education

Back to Top

 

Hobby and Repair
Alldata Online AllData
Database includes Technical Service Bulletins Vehicle, Identification information Diagnostic, test and repair procedures, wiring diagrams and component locations, vehicle specifications, tune-up procedures, maintenance schedules and a complete Motor Parts & Labor Guide.

Antiques Reference Database
Used by personal property appraisers, antiques dealers, museums, and agencies to evaluate almost every kind of antique in today’s collection. These antiques are organized into 1,280 different classifications on subjects and each record includes information on when and where the item was sold and the price realized. Every record has a color picture and text description.

Available at home access from home *To access this database remotely enter your 14-digit library barcode number.

Back to Top